Build a City, Data & Visualisation

Light Tests

In today’s lesson with Alec I decided to play with the lighting tools and see how we could capture it’s effects using the Arnold render. My first test was with the Area light, with this I changed the values of the light and set keys through out the timeline. This allowed me to create dynamic lighting over the stage. This technique will prove itself useful for our city’s light under the crust.

I also looked into material attributes again and seeing the affects I could use through Arnold. One effect I found very interesting was the “Emission Tool” This allowed me to make objects emit light themselves. This was also an opportunity to test out the feature of only rendering the object and not the background. This allowed me to bring in a custom background through Photoshop or After Effects.

I tried this again but with our city concept and adding a sky background.

Backround_Test

Leave a Reply

