Life Drawing Reflective Statement, Reflective Statements

Reflective Statement

Jumping into our first week of life drawing we worked on the concept of capturing the perspective of objects at different plains of view. For this we had a collection of boxes set up on a table which we then had to draw at different angles. I feel I have always had a general idea of how to do perspective drawings, but this task challenged how I look at objects in a 3d environment. After a few attempts I felt that I was starting to get the hang of it better

In our first session we kept it simple by trying to capture the form with a little detail possible. This helped train us to focus more on what we were looking at rather than our drawing. By learning the simple shapes needed to form a body, future life drawing class will become easier!

In our second session we touched up on what we were learning the week before while Mike came round each of us for guidance. I found this week to be very challenging but Mike showed me how to get the right perspectives for the body, this helped me grasp the idea of what I was looking for in the gestures the models were making.

This week in life drawing we focused more on heads and how their form changes at different angles. I feel I had a better understand of form this week compared to previous weeks due to practice and general better understand of a head’s structure.

15555338_1381612558529764_802473837_o

 

For this week’s exercise Mike wanted us to practice drawing Dirk the Daring from the game “Dragon Liar” We then used this exercise to apply Dirk’s proportions to the life model during this week’s session. I found applying a characters proportions to a different model entirely to be very challenging but a very insightful experience. Now we were not just drawing the model but we also had to think of how the posture would transition to Dirk.

In this weeks session we focused on the structure of Madam Mim from “The Sword in the Stone” Like the previous week this was to train us applying a characters proportions to a different model. I found this week to be very challenging especially with the dynamics of Madam Mim’s dress but with more practice I will refine my drawings.

Leave a Reply

