Abstract Art, Design Discourse

Walter Ruttman

Walter Ruttman is an animator that caught my attention while in our design discourse class. I found the collection of moving shapes along side music to be very effective in expressing different variations of motion.

One of the techniques that Walter uses is timing the animated shapes to musical structures. I hope to look further into this technique to use in my own projects.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These are screenshots from various short videos by Walter Ruttman.https://vimeo.com/42624760

Walter Ruttman has a collection of 4 videos called Lichtspiel: Opus I, II,III and IV. My favourite has to be Opus IV, I really like the dense visuals accompanied by better music compared to the other videos. Opus IV was made in 1925.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

